Medical Schools


Medicine at University of Plymouth Medical School

Overview of Plymouth Medical School


Plymouth’s medical school operates in clinical locations across the South West, including Derrifrod and Torbay Hospitals. Applicants compete for a relatively small number of places, around 86 per year. Plymouth University School of Medicine and Dentistry puts patient experience and student satisfaction at the heart of its approach to teaching. The medical degree programme is hands-on and forward-thinking and gives Plymouth students the knowledge, skills and confidence to become an outstanding doctor primed for tomorrow’s healthcare needs.


Plymouth University Medicine Course Structure

Plymouth Uni Medical School Course Structure: 5 years Integrated at Plymouth university Peninsula medical school, with the first 2 years focusing on scientific foundations of medicine within a clinical context. The curriculum is structured around the human life cycle. 

Year 1 

In the first two years, you’ll learn the core scientific foundations of medicine within a clinical context. 

Year 2 

In the second year, you’ll revisit the human life cycle and do a series of placements in a single general practice, enabling you to learn about long-term health issues and see teamwork in action. 

Year 3 

In your third and fourth years, you’ll learn more about clinical practice and spend more time in a patient-centred learning environment. 

Year 4 

You’ll continue working and learning in hospital and general practice settings, further developing your communication, clinical, problem-solving and analytical skills. 

Final year 

You’ll now be all set to apply the knowledge, skills and confidence you’ve acquired over the first four years by working ‘on the job’, as part of a healthcare team in action, based in either Derriford or Torbay hospital.

Plymouth Medical School Entry Requirements


Minimum of 7 GCSE passes at grades A-C which must include English Language, Mathematics and either GCSE double award science or two from single award Chemistry, Biology, or physics.

A Levels

A*AA - AAA. 

Must include Biology and one of Chemistry, Physics, Maths, and Psychology


36-38 points, including a 6 in Biology and one other science from Chemistry, Physics, Maths, and Psychology at the higher level.