Medical Schools


Medicine at University of Leeds Medical School

Overview of University of Leeds Medical School


The University of Leeds, established in 1904, is one of the largest higher education institutions in the UK, renowned globally for the quality of its teaching and research. Its strong academic expertise combined with the breadth of disciplines provides a wealth of opportunities, and has a real cultural, economic and societal impact on the world. Leeds University Medicine MBChB course is one of the most competitive in the UK and is recognised for the quality of its teaching and assessment.


Leeds Medicine Course Structure

Leeds school of medicine strong partnerships with the major Leeds teaching hospitals, regional general hospitals, general practices, hospices and private organisations provide our students with early clinical experience across primary care, hospital care and the wider community. Years one and two While on placement in a general practice in years one and two, you will work with voluntary groups close to your practice – helping you learn the importance of the voluntary sector as potential partners in healthcare delivery. Year three In year three students will integrate their clinical skills and knowledge by undertaking five junior clinical placements, each lasting five weeks. Year four In year four you undertake a further five clinical placements lasting six weeks in each specialty. Year five As a year five MBChB student you will participate in a mandatory series of clinical placements with a strong focus on transition to early postgraduate practice.

Leeds Medicine Entry Requirements


Six 5-9s (B-A*) including Chemistry and Biology (or Dual Science/Double Science), English Language and Mathematics.

A Levels


Must include chemistry or biology. If Chemistry is not offered then Biology must be offered with either Physics or Maths.


35 points

Including 6 in 3 subjects at higher level, one of which must be chemistry. Two subjects from biology, maths and physics must also be offered at higher or standard level if not offered at GCSE. English must be offered with a mark of at least 5 at standard level if not offered at GCSE.

Scottish Higher

AAAAB at higher level, including biology

Scottish Advanced

AB at Advanced Higher, including A in chemistry